Travel day!

Standard

We had an early start today so we could clean up the apartment before we left. We had a lot of fun in  DC and I am so thankful Jana let us use her apartment. We each left her a thank you note from the Smithonian we enjoyed and cleaned up everything. We headed to the metro at 8:30am and got to Union station at 9:00. I found the busses so we would know where to go then we sat and bought breakfast and some food for the bus.    
  

     We headed up to the terminal at 10:15 for the 11am departure. We got up there and the signage was awful. They mixed up the 10:30am and 11 am bus lines because the 10:30 took off late. After sorting that out we got check off the list and because we had reserved seats we boarded first. We had the front seat table. We left almost exactly at 11am.

   
 The bus ride was fine but bumps were harsh. I slept about half the way and just watched the country side for the rest. We munched on Oreos and cheese ritz crackers. We arrived just out side of Penn station/Maddison Square Gardens about 4:30. We got week metro passed and got up to 96th street. We found our hostel no problem and its nice. We share a bathroom but we have our own room. 
After resting we headed down to my favorite restaurant Jacobs Pickles. (A must do if you’re a foodie in NYC) We had to wait about 35 minutes for a table. We started with Poutine (fried with cheese and gravy). I’ve had a lot on the menu and I would HIGHLY recommend it!! We each had a cider that pear and apple so it was crisp and refreshing. I had the egg, bacon, and cheese fried chicken biscuit, Claire had the southwest BLT fried chicken biscuit, and Laura had the BBQ fried chicken biscuit. It was delicious as always and I was sad I was too full for dessert.    

             We were stuffed but sat all day so we walked back along Central Park. Now we are back showered, painted our nails and cheering on the New York Rangers. We are hoping they will make it to the finals but it’s not looking good right now. I’m fighting some allergies, but I hope it’s a 24 hour thing. Long day tomorrow! Talk to you later! 

steps 15,226 (6.95miles) most of those I assume are from bumping around on the bus. 

Leave a comment